Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Fanciers' Forums > Training and Behavior

Closed Thread

Posted 11th September 2004, 07:32 PM
Smile

TRAINING YOUNG BIRDS for Homing & Racing Pigeons

I dont know if any of you remember but I am new to the pigeon world. Well now I have a new baby I'm so excited I found it this morning and there is still another egg in the nest. What do I do? Do I give the parents extra or different food? I dont have them seperated from the others do I need to do that? If I do I dont know how I will they way my coop is built. I never thought I would get this far. LOL And I am so excited I have been letting them out to fly around during the day. They are so beautiful flying around, my neighbor even called to say how cool they looked. (all white so you cant miss them) So my first question is when could I start taking them down the road further and how far should the first lesson be? They seem to go a little further out themselfs everyday. Is there any thing they like to eat other then the pigeon food. Any treat I can give them? I'm sorry if I sound so silly I'm just so excited over all of this. And still only have one pigeons book by Carl Naether that doesnt explain much of what I want to know. So please help me if you can with my silly question. LOL I will send a picture soon I didnt want to scare them today with the flash.
Pat (confused in Mich LOL)

Last edited by Skyeking; 21st June 2005 at 09:29 AM.
Posted 11th September 2004, 08:27 PM

Thoughts On Nutrition- by Snowbird

Breeders should get more protein--about 17% or 18%. If you can't get that mix just hand feed them some quality dry dog food that is ground and mixed with warm water--good protein and fat supplement once a day for babies (after 7 days old) and parents.