Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Fanciers' Forums > Homing & Racing Pigeons

Posted 25th November 2010, 02:33 PM
Barless Pigeons

I am new to the sport of racing. I am going to be breeding and racing Barless blues and browns. I was just wondering why you dont see more people racing them?

Posted 25th November 2010, 03:12 PM
Because they are relatively new colors to the racing birds. Browns aren't very popular because the sun bleaches the feathers and it is thought that they don't hold up well to hard training/racing. And of course barless is just now getting out there, thanks to Dennis Kuhn. Because barless is recessive to the other patterns, it takes a while to build up both racing quality and barless in appearance (rather than a bunch of birds who just carry the gene hidden).
I love barless birds, but have never had any I also have never had any brown homers, or even silver.

"It is not only fine feathers that make fine birds." - Aesop

~Semper Fidelis~
Posted 25th November 2010, 07:55 PM
Well thanks for the reply. The breeders I am starting with are D Kuhns birds, I should say the one cock is the grandfather to 2 of the 8. He has won 12 diplomas. A friend of mine is moving and cant keep as many birds so I got them at a good price. I'm going to stick with his breeding program to stick with the barless genetics.
Posted 27th November 2010, 05:09 AM

Blue Barless wins

Most recent win with Blue Barless was last weekend November 21st 2010 at Minnesota State Racing Pigeon Show held in Hutchinson, MN. #1666 blue barless cock won Grand Champion Eyesign. He won same award back in 06' at National Racing Pigeon Show held in Kansas. He is a direct son of foundation blue barless named "Dorian" who is possibly the best blue barless racer ever. Dorian was 2X 3rd at 600 miles, and 25th at 200 miles, before being set aside for stock.

Dennis Kuhn
http://www.pigeonsuppliesplus.com

http://www.whiteracingpigeons.com

Last edited by dennis kuhn; 27th November 2010 at 05:19 AM.