Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Fanciers' Forums > Homing & Racing Pigeons

Posted 1st February 2008, 02:13 PM

Diatomaceous earth as wormer

Five days ago I sprinkled diatomacious earth on my birds feed, and repeated again the next day. Today while scrapping the floor I noticed some poops were looser and upon inspection could actually see a small worm, dull white, maybe 32nd inch diameter, curled into a circle. I'm new to pigeons and have had my 5 birds for 6 months now and this is the first time I've tried worming this way. I'm trying to stay away from the chemicals if possible, and wonder if this can be a viable means of control, and if so, how often do I need to do this. Also, has anyone had success dusting birds with diatomacious earth, and how would one go about doing this. Tnx for your input, I'm learning a lot reading these posts.

Posted 1st February 2008, 02:40 PM
I have used the diatomaceous earth to sprinkle under nest bowls and such. It definitely keeps ants and other critters away. I've never used it as a wormer, but have heard it used that way.

You can also use garlic caps to keep internal worms away.

Every negative event effects my ability to own my APBT, please be a responsible owner and keep your pitbull out of trouble.
Posted 1st February 2008, 02:56 PM
Location: Antwerp Belgium, formerly Cologne, Germany, formerly San Antonio, Texas (birthplace)
Hello Jazzman,

There has been a lot of discussion and many posts concerning diatomaceous earth in PT. There are several forms of DE, one of which is food grade. Be sure you are informed of the differences. You can search under "diatomaceous."

I have used DE for other purposes (in Texas, and in Cologne), against cockroaches, mixed with boric acid.

The former newspaper columnist L.M. Boyd (now retired) once listed the fact that ants will not cross a chalk line. Probably something to do with DE, or the structure of chalk (calcite).

Here is a Wikipedia link to DE: