Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Fanciers' Forums > Homing & Racing Pigeons

Posted 1st May 2006, 06:57 AM

Feed before a race

Any opinions on when to last feed the birds before a Saturday race and what do you feed them?

Posted 1st May 2006, 08:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiggs
Any opinions on when to last feed the birds before a Saturday race and what do you feed them?
Keep in mind I'm no expert............sometimes I think I'll never figure this out, but this is what I do. If the race is a 300 or less and it doesn't look like it will be a tough one, I feed mine all they want to eat on Friday morning before they are shipped Friday afternoon. I use a mix from Browns called "supercrack" that is a little higher in fat. If the race is 200 miles or less, they get the supercrack on Friday morning only. If it's a 300 they get 1/2 supercrack and 1/2 regular feed on Thursday and supercrack on Friday. It it's a 400 or 500 they get 1/2 supercrack and 1/2 regular feed on Wed, and supercrack on Thurs. and Fri. On the 400 and 500 I feed them all they want in the AM on Thurs. and a little more around noon on Thurs. (We ship the 400 and 500 on thurs.) Got all that?? LOL
Now, we've got a guy that we fly with and this is what he SAYS he does and he beats us all just about every week. Up to 300 miles, he doesn't feed his birds at all before he ships them. It seems to work for him but I won't ship my birds with a completely empty crop. If they run into trouble and are out for an extra day, they are already one day behind on feed. I don't think that's good.
Posted 3rd May 2006, 04:04 AM