Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Fanciers' Forums > Homing & Racing Pigeons

Posted 20th February 2007, 12:43 PM

Pigeon Bands

I just had my first egg hatched for this year, and it's my first year breeding/raising pigeons, and I was wondering if it matters where I get my pigeon bands from. I went to a site to order bands and it gave me two options: the NPA bands and the AU bands. If I'm not even in their clubs, do I go a head and still order and get those kinds of bands?
Also, I'm just raising pigeons for now and not sure if I'm going to race them in the future so do I still need to actually join a club to get a certain number or code for my loft? If I don't, what kind of bands would I get so when my pigeons get lost people would know if they are my pigeons if I do lose them?

Posted 20th February 2007, 02:35 PM
I have the same question as you and iam wondering do i even need to be in their club to have my pigeons where one of those kind of bands.
Posted 20th February 2007, 02:41 PM
You do need to belong to the club to purchase them directly from them, however, I you might be able to get some from another member who buys for the local flyers in your area. Perhaps the person who sold you your birds are members and can sell a few to you. Do you know any of your local racer members?

You can also purchase the permanent type bands with your name and address on them from Globals.

It is best to get the bands before the bird hatches because you can usually get them on within the 5th to 7th day of hatching, as they get to big after the 7th day, depending on the type pigeons you have.

Every negative event effects my ability to own my APBT, please be a responsible owner and keep your pitbull out of trouble.
Posted 20th February 2007, 02:42 PM