Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Archives > Archive - General Discussion

Posted 26th June 2005, 08:47 PM

Best Substrate for Aviary Floors?

Hello everyone,

I'm curious to know what different substrates you have tried on your aviary floors to facilitate cleaning. I'm building an outdoor aviary (finally) for my girls and am not sure what to put on the floor to streamline the cleaning process.

Also with indoor and/or outdoor aviaries, do you leave a bath out all the time or just place a few times a week? My birds poop so much in them that I am having a tough time keeping them clean if left in the cage 24/7.

I have one aggressive pigeon so I might have to make an aviary within an aviary unless you think they might just all "work it out." Your thoughts?

Thanks for your help.

Laura (Eartha, Appaloosa Girl, and Midge)

Posted 26th June 2005, 08:48 PM
Also, the area is about 11' x 12'. Thanks. -L
Posted 27th June 2005, 12:02 AM
Hi Laura!
I'm new to pigeons and don't know about the flooring, others will be along soon to help you out.
My comment is about the aggressive pigeon and being new to pigeons I don't know how they might react, but what if since this is new to all the birds you placed all the non-aggressive birds in first for a few days, allowing them to set up their territories before introducing Mr./Ms. Bossy pants and see if that doesn't slow him down a bit . I don't know, this may be the wrong advice with pigeons.... It works with other animals sometimes......but see what the others have to say on the idea first.
Good luck, Melissa
Posted 27th June 2005, 05:00 AM
I have a smooth cement floor wich is OK as it just involves a heavy duty broom and some water to give it a good scrub.
Posted 27th June 2005, 05:17 AM
Hi there,

The cement floor is probably an excellent idea, as you can just hose it off.