Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Pigeons & People > General Discussions

Posted 11th March 2013, 01:30 AM

bad homing ability?

hi all, i was thinking of purchasing a pair of bald headed doneks and breeding them but i was told by many people doneks don't have very good homing ability and that if i chose to fly them i would need pigeons with good homing abilities such as turbits or tipplers to fly with them so they don't get lost. is this true? i was told by many breeders

Last edited by dragoons.izzy; 11th March 2013 at 03:51 AM.
Posted 11th March 2013, 12:51 PM
Im not sure about there homing ability but doneks tend to fly medium height and roll/dive down fast so they may split away from the tipplers or others and get lost that way. breed some back ups from them before you fly them just incase they get lost.
Posted 11th March 2013, 02:26 PM
I have been breeding and flying doneks for 20 years. A good blood line of doneks will not get lost if flown in pairs or trips. tipplers are used to bring the doneks up faster. The homing ability of doneks are not the best but flying them on a regular improves them and you shouldn't have many problems. They are great flyers and very entertaining to watch come down.
Posted 11th March 2013, 10:45 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Donek View Post
I have been breeding and flying doneks for 20 years. A good blood line of doneks will not get lost if flown in pairs or trips. tipplers are used to bring the doneks up faster. The homing ability of doneks are not the best but flying them on a regular improves them and you shouldn't have many problems. They are great flyers and very entertaining to watch come down.
i am purchasing a pair of red baldies for $75 do you think thats a fair price?. the guy told me they're very good spinners and if you're not happy with them just bring them back
Posted 12th March 2013, 08:23 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoons.izzy View Post