Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Pigeons & People > General Discussions

Posted 19th February 2012, 10:56 PM
Smile

NZ Pigeon Keepers?

Hey PT,
I'm new to the forum (It's great!) and was wondering if there's any other NZ or Canterbury Keepers here (I've met a few already .) Because I'm new to pigeon keeping (see other thread) I don't know much about pigeon clubs and supplies in the area so It'd be awesome if you guys could let me know of some good places to buy pigeon supplies, new birds and meet people in the Canterbury area (Breeders, Pigeon Clubs, Vets etc.) Also some NZ specific tips on keeping pigeons in our climate would be excellent.
Look forward to meeting some more NZers and some other Cantabs!

Angus

Last edited by Angusp2; 20th February 2012 at 12:14 AM. Reason: Fixing grammar
Posted 20th February 2012, 12:33 AM
there are 2 clubs running in Chch and poultry and pigeon club in north canty (rangiora).

You can contact Bob (UPFA) on 3238058 or Rick (NZNPA) on 3585661. I myself am in ohoka, about 15 min from woodend.

The difference between pets and pest is only on which side of the fence they're standing on. Keep your animals in your own property.
Posted 20th February 2012, 12:35 AM
Angus the best place I could suggest going for cheap bulk pigeon food is specialty seeds on haytons road, you can google search them. I buy wheat, brown pea and maze there.

But as you only have one pigeon you could go to burwood produce and buy a pigeon mix or just mix your own. pigeons do best on a mix of corn or maze, brown pea (maple pea) and wheat.

Sorghum is their favourite treat.

And this is the website I used once for some supplements

http://www.seedandfeed.co.nz/index.php

Don't go to a vet. they charge $40 just for the consoltation, treatments are on top of that. let a local pigeon guy look at it if you think its sick. I would be happy to help if need be.

Luke
Posted 21st February 2012, 12:29 AM