Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Pigeon Crisis - Emergency! > Sick or Injured Pigeon and Dove Discussions

Notices

Posted 15th June 2010, 03:36 AM

What's the best way to wean a pigeon?

Hi everybody, I'm new to Pigeon Talk and I need some help please. Yesterday I found a baby pigeon on a busy inner city street in Sydney. He came up to me flapped his wings and squeaked! From photos I studied on the net he/she appears to be about 20-22 days old. He is not quite fully fledged, still bare under wings, tail feathers still not long and a few yellow baby fluffs on his head and back. He has no apparent injuries, eyes are bright and clear, wings extend fine and feet are good. He was uninterested in food last night when we brought him home and his crop felt as if it contained some food. We kept him warm in a box with a towel wrapped hot water bottle (which I changed during the wee hours). This morning he still was bright and perky but not hungry. However, I tried without much success to get him to take some water. just managed to dribble a bit in the side of his mouth with my finger. when we returned late morning he was out of his box, perched on my nanna rug on the sofa and enjoying the sun through the window. He was also ravenous and set up such squeaking!! with nothing else at hand I fed him mashed up seed bread by the syringe method. messy but worth it. He is totally uninterested in pigeon mix; doesn't seem to know what to do with it. I contacted an avian vet who sold me a product for hand rearing babybirds. he will take about 15-20 ccs but starts squeaking after a couple of hours. he seems to like company and climbs up to settle on my husband's shoulder. He poos well, a little runny but plenty of it. He obviously hasn't been weaned yet and I would like some advice on the best way to do this. I tried to prise open his beak and managed to put in a little banana and i have cooked him some rice to try later but I am afraid of hurting him. We live in a small terrace ho