Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Archives > Archive - Pet Pigeons And Doves

Posted 2nd August 2008, 09:14 PM

Ring Neck dove eggs Infertile or Fertile?

My Pair of doves laid their first pair of eggs a week or so ago. But I candled them and I'm 100 percent sure that they are infertile, But before I threw them out I wanted a second opinion. Below are 4 photos of both eggs. One marked "Black" The other "Green" This is my first time with doves and breeding them as well. I think the Infertility has something to do with it being their first pair.

"Black" Egg
Natural light

Candled

"Green" Egg
Natural Light

Candled

(Apologies for the poor image quality)

But I am 100 percent sure they will not hatch, due to the lack of blood vessels and a "bubble" in the egg.

How can I get rid of them without making the female stressed? I heard you could let her continue to sit on them, but that could take weeks ( And the eggs already are beginning to smell..) . If I was to remove the nest and eggs all together would they mate again or would she be shell shocked? Any information concerning this would be fantastic. Thanks guys. D:

Posted 2nd August 2008, 09:20 PM
Please do let her continue to sit on the eggs. Her body clock will let her know they aren't going to hatch and she will abandon them then.
We always recommend letting birds complete the cycle, although most often with wooden eggs.

If all the beasts were
gone, men would die
from great loneliness of
spirit, for whatever
happens to the beasts
also happens to the man.
Seattle 1736-1866

Another Life, Gone To The Birds!

DO NO HARM

Member, International Wildlife Rehabilitation Council
Posted 2nd August 2008, 09:25 PM
Right then. What if I don't have any wooden eggs what else would be a good false egg? How long will it take for her to realize that they won't hatch?

(And I guess that is a yes to the Infertile question?)
Posted 2nd August 2008, 11:05 PM