Pigeon-Talk banner

How do you tell if a white pigeon is a homing pigeon and not release pigeon?

33K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  SB_doves 
#1 · (Edited)
HELP:How do you tell if a white pigeon is a homing pigeon and not release pigeon?

:cool: Hi Everyone,I'm new to this pigeon page.But I was wandering how you tell if a white pigeon is actually a homing pigeon or racing, I guess,anything that will help disgintuish their differences from a release pigeon or so call release dove.I'm going to look at some white pigeons and I want some pointers before I purchase them because you can never trust anyone your buying your birds from.so if any one knows, please let me know.thanks.

#3 ·
If I understand you correctly is that you need white homing pigeons that you can release.

All then you need to do is check that you are not buying doves but pigeons if you would like to release them.

It would depend on what you would like to do with them that is important if you would like to keep them in an avairy then it would not matter as they are both pretty with their own habits etc.

If you gave a bit more detail as to what you wanted I am sure we could help you some more:)

#4 ·
Gee,

If you are about to purchase white homing pigeons, doves, release birds, etc. It would appear from your questions that you better stop, sit down and take a deep breath.

Let's start with what the birds you are trying to acquire, what exactly do you want them to do for you ? Pets, win shows, win races, act as a wedding release bird, play parts in a magic trick ? What ?

Then what is your budget ? You could select birds of such quality, that they could win races, win shows, and act as release birds at selected events. It would be a great looking line of white racing pigeons, which have won in the races and the shows. Theses birds for training, could be part of a wedding release business in a 100 mile radius and do it several times a week.