Tetracycline dose - Pigeon-Talk
Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Archives > Archive - General Discussion

Posted 4th August 2007, 09:00 AM

Tetracycline dose

Hi folks,

Can someone please advise on the dosage for tetracycline? I will be able to get it in powder form from an aquarium store, but to know how much to give, how often etc. It's 500mg per packet. If someone can get back to me quickly with easy instructions (I'm not good with the math), that would be appreciated greatly.

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Posted 4th August 2007, 09:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigeonpal2002 View Post
Hi folks,

Can someone please advise on the dosage for tetracycline? I will be able to get it in powder form from an aquarium store, but to know how much to give, how often etc. It's 500mg per packet. If someone can get back to me quickly with easy instructions (I'm not good with the math), that would be appreciated greatly.

Thanks,
Brad, you can add that sachet to 16oz. of water and give as the only
source of drinking water. If you have concerns about the bird drinking in
normal quantities, then I would additionally syringe am/pm to ensure that
enough of the medicine is being delivered. If you have metronidazole
on hand, it can be combined w/the Tetracycline family of drugs and cover
a wider range of pathogens. At an aquarium supply store it would most
likely be sold as Fishzole. Hope all goes well.

fp
pigeonperson
Posted 4th August 2007, 09:31 AM
Brad,
I hope that this doesn't involve one of your runts. I know you have a vet and strongly urge you to get the bird to the office for fecals and blood tests asap.
Tetracycline is a big yeast producer and should be given in conjunction with Nystatin.
Can you say why you believe the bird is ill? The same symptoms can cut across any number of illnesses.

Posted 4th August 2007, 10:21 AM
Thanks FP and Pigeonperson,