Old Fashioned Style Loft - Pigeon-Talk
Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Fanciers' Forums > Loft Designs

Posted 17th January 2009, 04:40 PM

Old Fashioned Style Loft

First I must admit that I am totally new to the idea of raising pigeons. Farm animals and birds, yes. But I didn't know much about pigeons until a couple yeas ago.

As part of my research into old style house and barn construction I kept coming across sketches of these buildings that had holes in upper parts of the walls. Some of them even had little tiny rooms behind these holes. As I continued to research I finally came across an old farm manor plan that explained these. These were nesting holes and rooms for raising of squab. These homes and barns would have a small room or closet that contained the little homes/nest boxes. These nest were designed so that the pigeons could live their lives free in the farm, coming and going. Some had areas for providing feed.

Has anyone here heard of this? Does anyone do anything similar? I have watched the pigeons living in or around farms here on the prairies. It seems to me that these old farmers had a good idea going.

Does this sound like a reasonable thing to attempt? Or am I completely out to lunch yet again?? Wouldn't be the first time...

I posted this already on another forum, but I just found this forum and thought this is a much better place to post it.

Below are pics of my most recent design. This is a combination of a chicken coop and a loft. Chickens below and pigeons above. The chicken area will be enclosed with polycarbonate roof panels, but the pigeons would be able to fly in and out. Basically the chicken area in front is a sun porch that is used to create a warm place for during our cold winters. I would add removable panels to the pigeon area that would allow the same for the pigeons. But I would like it if they were still able to fly free in the winter.