pigeon sick - Pigeon-Talk
Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Pigeon Crisis - Emergency! > Sick or Injured Pigeon and Dove Discussions

Notices

Posted 10th August 2007, 03:27 PM

pigeon sick

one of my youg pigeon nose is running and his beak is half open, i was looking through web sites and the symtoms semm to be respiratory related , is there differnet forms of this. I got the pigeon wit an oder of six birds from a breeder but on the second day i had them one of them got sick and died, I took it to a pigeon fancier to look at last night and he tought it was'nt respiratory and give me some stuff in a bottle and said to put it in there water, i done this striaght away so will have to see. i am a novice and any help would e very much welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Posted 10th August 2007, 03:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jojo67 View Post
one of my youg pigeon nose is running and his beak is half open, i was looking through web sites and the symtoms semm to be respiratory related , is there differnet forms of this. I got the pigeon wit an oder of six birds from a breeder but on the second day i had them one of them got sick and died, I took it to a pigeon fancier to look at last night and he tought it was'nt respiratory and give me some stuff in a bottle and said to put it in there water, i done this striaght away so will have to see. i am a novice and any help would e very much welcome.
It is most probably a respiratory issue/infection with perhaps other issues, and please isolate this bird and any other with these symptoms. Keep them warm and out of drafts, rehydrate and make sure to feed them if they aren't eating.

It would be best if you could get a diagnosis from an avian vet so treatment can be done with the correct meds. There are combinations of meds like doxy cycline and tylosin that are beneficial for certain respiratory infections.
Please wash hands thoroughly after handling the birds, and use all hygenic protocals.