(Urgent)please help - Pigeon-Talk
Pigeon-Talk  
Go Back   Pigeon-Talk > Pigeon Crisis - Emergency! > Sick or Injured Pigeon and Dove Discussions

Notices

Posted 23rd January 2017, 03:39 PM

(Urgent)please help

I've been treating my baby pigeon for suspected canker with spartrix and a tiny little piece of co-amoxiclav today he's been showing abit of a improvement,then tonight on top of everything else,I noticed this just near his crop by his wing,I'm pretty sure it wasn't there before.and his feathers are damp,he seems OK in himself,but I'm really worried,what is it?I'm new to pigeons and what can I do for him before I get him to a vet,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (105.3 KB, 21 views)

Last edited by Sarah k; 23rd January 2017 at 03:56 PM..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Posted 23rd January 2017, 03:58 PM
That had to be there for a while. Flush with saline that you can make by boiling a quart of water and 1 Tablespoon of salt, then cool to lukewarm. Flush with this, then cover wound with an antibiotic cream. He needs an oral antibiotic as well.
Can't tell if it goes through to the crop or not.

Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass........It's about learning to dance in the rain.

Last edited by Jay3; 23rd January 2017 at 04:05 PM..
Posted 23rd January 2017, 04:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay3 View Post
That had to be there for a while. Flush with saline that you can make by boiling a quart of water and 1 Tablespoon of salt, then cool to lukewarm. Flush with this, then cover wound with an antibiotic cream. He needs an oral antibiotic as well.
I can honestly say I have never noticed it.and I'm always gently fluffing his feathers back,and he was at the vets the other day.
What is it?
I will have to get him back the vet tomorrow,
I have inodine,the stuff the vet uses can I bathe it with that?

Last edited by Sarah k; 23rd January 2017 at 04:08 PM..

Posted 23rd January 2017, 04:45 PM