Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to start by telling you guys that I have never had a pigeon before. The baby's parents were scared away by someone. I have been taking care of him for the past 2 days. I fed him ground up adult pigeon food mix, mixed with water. He was very interested in food, but since yesterday he's showing less and less interest. I noticed water dark green poop along with some white in it. I have no experience with birds. please help me to save him. :(

·
Registered
4,765 Posts
Can you post a photo of the droppings? Is the crop empty in the mornings? Rather feed him defrosted green peas, easier to digest and has a lot of moisture. A baby that age will need about 120 peas daily, divided into 3 meals of 40 peas each. But only feed when the crop is empty. Can you post a photo of the baby as well?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Can you post a photo of the droppings? Is the crop empty in the mornings? Rather feed him defrosted green peas, easier to digest and has a lot of moisture. A baby that age will need about 120 peas daily, divided into 3 meals of 40 peas each. But only feed when the crop is empty. Can you post a photo of the baby as well?
this is the adult food mix we feed the pigeons in my country. she ate the whole ones yesterday and vomited the black ones and round white ones this morning.

·
Registered
4,765 Posts
Droppings not looking good. She might have canker. Missing feathers around the head, drinking excessive water, yellowish growths inside the beak, difficulty swallowing, yellow urates are a few symptoms. Can you check way back in her throat for yellow growths? Will you be able to get metronidazole and Nystatin (anti-fungal) from a pharmacy?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·