Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reading many different threads since I picked up Otto and Eloise, my new rescued Ringneck doves, the other day. I've ordered several books on keeping doves, been reading like crazy about them on the internet, got them fresher feed, have been singing to them (which they really like) and am in the process of making them a new, and WAY bigger indoor cage. They seem to be adjusting really well to their new environment, but I want to make sure that I'm doing things right since I'm new to keeping doves.
I don't know much about their history except that they were supposedly bought from Petco for a photo shoot and a friend of a friend took them since they didn't know what to do with them afterwards. She has had them both in a 16" x 12" cage for I believe, 8 months?!! Crazy.
Since they've come to my place, one of my biggest priorities this week has been to figure out a new cage for them and I've been working on one that is 30"H X 30"L and 24"W. I chose that size based on recommendations I read in the forum and the fact that it will fit comfortably within one of the windows in my room- so that they will get as much sun as my north facing bedroom gets. They like being by the window and are curious about the 6 chickens that we keep in the backyard!