Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi people,
Apologies if theres a thread on these boards already requesting the same info, this is my first time on the forums so please bear with me :). I've always loved watching pigeons and I'm particularly fascinated by the tumbler varieties ; I love the way they move and roll and the general look that some of them have - i like my pigeons cute and chubby LOL.
Whats the recommended minimum number of birds i can keep and what sort of basic set-up would they require? Also are there any books for the novice with no experience of keeping pigeons which can be recommended?
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks friends.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
welcome to PT, you sound already smittin..lol.. as far as how many it just depends on how much room you have and where you will be keeping them..do you own a house or live in a flat? where would you fly them? are there alot of feral pigeons around you? also hopefully someone in the UK will chime in to help you as keeping pigeons there may be diff than here in the US.. here is a link with some info that may help you on your way of how to take care of them.

http://www.ukanimalproducts.com/Products.aspx?cat=12

·
Registered
851 Posts
Look for a local club or someone who can mentor you as well. This has been critical for us. We were able to get into lofts and "work" with birds before we actually had our own. That helped us decide what we liked and didn't like in loft design, nest box design, nest fronts, feeders and feeding methods, waterers, and even scrapers. Not only that, but when we did get our own birds, there was no timidity in handling them as we had other folks teach us with their "valuable" birds.

BTW, you realize that this is like an addiction? Once you are hooked you will need your daily dose of bird time or you will go through withdrawal.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·