Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there,
I have no experience with doves but I do love all animals and wildlife and have rescued many cats, dogs, rats, mice, voles, squirrels, etc.
I have recently been made aware of someone who could no longer care for her 150 ring neck doves she obviously allowed to breed. She said she found homes on craigslist for all but 30 or so. She could not stand seeing all the carnage every morning after the racoons got to them in her apparent sub-standard cages, bunny hutches and decided to just release them into the wild. That was on or about Father's Day of this year. We have sightings on a few and one that is willing to climb into a wire dog crate as of this afternoon.
We are 3 people who want to help recapture these beautiful birds and get them safe and secure. I'm not sure what we'll do then but I cannot just sit back doing nothing and letting them become part of the food chain.
I've been reading up on these sweet birds and I am interested in any support, connections to foster families or help you can provide. Right now I have an outdoor cage that is used for squirrel rehabilitation release. It is vacant at this time and I could use it temporarily. It is 8'tall x 4' wide and 12' long all regulation grade materials per Fish and Game standards. Predator proof, 1/2" wire mesh all around. Shelving around the entire perimeter at the top and large trees branches secured and fastened for climbing. Obviously I would need to make some alterations to the interior decor for the doves. How many can I fit in here temporarily? I've read 4 and somewhere else said 10. We know of possibly 4 that are still living and around this neighborhood but are considering talking the owner into feeding any that may be hanging around her house and capturing them as well.