Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to the site because i'm a new trainer, but I think I'm allergic to pigeons :confused: Is this possible? I'm breaking out in hives severly and I don't think i'm allergic to anything else besides motrin. If i'm allergic to these birds that I really want to train.. This is really going to suck. -_-

·
Banned
3,342 Posts
I know of lung problems from long term exposure to pigeons, Some I think get allergies sooner than others but its from the dust, I have not heard of the skin side of things, Is it possible its from the wheat?, nesting materials or something else in the loft? That would be easy to test.

In saying all this, I was allergic to horses, But my love for them was stronger and I found within about a month ( way back when I was 8 yrs old ) of being exposed daily I built a resistance and showed no signs, With working fulltime I had no time for my horses, Sold them and now days If I am around a horse the allergies flare up again.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
New to the site because i'm a new trainer, but I think I'm allergic to pigeons :confused: Is this possible? I'm breaking out in hives severly and I don't think i'm allergic to anything else besides motrin. If i'm allergic to these birds that I really want to train.. This is really going to suck. -_-
I would talk to your doctor about it , maybe they can pinpoint what it may be before getting rid of the birds, but yes people are allergic to all kinds of things, sometimes developing later in life.

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
I am allergic to feathers and there dander. Use a face mask and wash real well after being with them. Stinks you cant use allergy medicine because that really helps me. I agree a dr might to help you out. I also developed these allergies late in life but it seems the are under control and subsiding somewhat as I get older

·
Registered
13,047 Posts