Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
Im a vet tech at an animal hospital that takes in injured/orphaned wildlife.

A few weeks ago, a female homer was dropped off covered in oil, very thin, cold and sick, and a male homer with a possible wing injury was also dropped off.

Both have been nursed back to health, but are still very thin. (were fattening them up though). Both seem to be able to fly around the room with no issues.

However, Both birds have taken quite a liking to each other (I caught them mating today).

Im taking a shot in the dark, but I was wondering if anyone would want to adopt this pair. I dont know if they would make viable racers ever again, but I dont want to split them up. At the same time they cant live at the hospital permanently either.

Im not sure at this point either if we got them healthy enough and released them if they would bother flying home (one came from louisiana, another from georgia) because theyve paired up.
I also have issues just releasing them since they seem to have failed getting home the first time.

Im located in Jacksonville, FL if anyone is interested! (Id adopt them, but I already have a male homer with an unfixable healed broken wing I took in ;)

·
Registered
15,536 Posts
I guess you've already contacted the owners about these birds? Do you know WHERE in LA and GA the birds are from? Depending on how far of a flight it is, AND, how old they are, AND, exactly how long they've been at the hospital, they just might go home. However, I would want to know if the owner was contacted and if so, what did they say about the birds?
Some owners wouldn't want them back or care and if they DID show up at home, maybe not be real eager to greet them, BUT, there are some fanciers, like me for example, that would be thrilled to death, to see one of my birds that I thought was lost, show up. In fact, they've done just that many times.....

·
Registered
463 Posts