Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm pretty new to the homing pigeon world, but I have two 8 week old pigeons that are already flying outside. I read somewhere that ACV (apple cider vinegar) is a good health benefit for pigeons, but I also read that probiotics should follow after the ACV dosage. Can I just give them ACV without the probiotics? Also, I'm not planning on racing them EVER; they're mainly just a pet I guess you could say. Is it still O.K to give them ACV even if they're not racing and young?

·
Registered
2,906 Posts
If you use apple cider vinegar use it in a non metallic drank container. Probiotics I believe are mostly used after a sickness to where the bird was on antibiotics to get the intestinal flora back to par after the antibiotic use. Its like you using yogurt to get those good bacteria back into your system after antibiotic use or anything for the choice is yours and you don't have to use probiotics but that is the purpose of them. c.hert

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! But can I use ACV even if my pigeons aren't racing or doing anything very stressful? This is probably a stupid question but...who knows? :)

·
Registered
2,906 Posts
Sure you can use it anytime and just follow the above basic directions for its keeps the birds system in a acid mode to help deter different sicknesses . c.hert

·
Registered
2,906 Posts
On one of the posts under Pet Pigeons and Doves titled : Lethargic bird life span on post 16 a person by the name of Victor recommands: raw apple cider vinegar made by Briggs. c.hert

·
Registered
29,797 Posts
That's Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar, but any other organic brand will do.

·
Registered
233 Posts