Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I let out 6 birds out last Fri. 1 came back Fri. night 3 came back Sun about noon so I have 4 birds, since then I put cage outside and been using the food call and the birds are responding well (less food seems to help) I have put them through the trap by hand. Are they ready to come out? I am new to this so any advice would be helpful. THANKS!

·
Registered
4,098 Posts
Wow! Your procedure was the reverse of things we do. Usually we teach them food call first. Then we teach them how to trap followed by surroundings familiarity. Finally we release them.

If they are responding to food call, then you are finish with that step. Trap training follows. They should trap by themselves after food call. Are they ready to come out? Well, they already did! Your goal right now is to teach them how to trap. Depending on what trap you have you either have to teach them by shoving them inside the trap or just put them on the trap and call them in. Depending on how smart the birds are, 3 minimum training sessions should be followed. If you have the bob trap, then put some settling cage to prevent them from escaping, put the bird inside the trap, then call them in. If they don't go inside either you have to catch them and shove them in. You can release the birds once they trap themselves when you give food call.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
when I went to do some bob training one bird flew out and came back in ten minutes later. I let them all out about 2pm and they all traped around 6pm. Not to much flying around mainly just sat on the garage roof. Glad they made it back.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
great clip thanks, I have let them out a few times now and they trap after the food call but there not flying around to much maybe like ten minutes and then sit on the roof should I do something or will they start venturing on there own.

·
Registered