Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is My friend Glea's baby, he was born about two months ago and can not fly or hop/walk well. What can I tell her, I am very new to the bird world! She thinks Tiny Tim is crippled,.... Is he?

Attachments

·
Registered
508 Posts
In the picture, It looks like it's deformed to me. but i'm no vet. Has it always been like that? since birth? It could be broken, or it might not have gotten enough calcium growing up. I'm sure there are more people here who can help more. I hope it all works out well.

·
Registered
29,797 Posts
Is it just the one leg that goes out to the side? A front on picture would make things clearer I think. How long has his leg been like that? Did she hatch these babies?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yea it has always been like that since she has noticed the babies moving about on their own, I am trying to contact her (she lives in MD and I in WA) to send a few more pictures. The mommy is one of her favorite birds. This is the only other picture I have right now. It is sooo cute! I wish "he" was mine, I just love his coloring and she says that he is such a lover to be around.

Attachments

·
Registered
43 Posts
I had two birds that were like that... A rooster and a ringneck dove. Like that ever since they hatched. They were like that their entire lives. Other than having to hop on one leg they lived perfectly normal lives.
The joint that connected the leg to the thigh was deformed and made it stick out to the side.
Those two ended up being the most loveable birds I ever had too.

·
Registered
29,797 Posts