Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
9 days ago i brought a rescued baby pigeon at home (at that time it was arround 2 week old) ! in my region baby formula is not avaialable and i have to order it online which is too costly sold here and i cant afford it ! so i started giving it human baby formula named (cerelac wheat only 6 month) ! everything was fine untill i think i over fed him or he didnt digest and i didnt notice ! from 3 days his crop is emptying only half way not full ,I tried waiting for 24hrs for the crop to empty but it was futile. and as a result baby got weakened very badly ! its dropping its weight ! i dont want to perform crop flush as im a newbie or rather need someone to guide me step by step so that bird doesnt aspirate ! apart from that i see some white substance in his throat im thinking that it is residue of baby formula , well if not if it is canker how do i recognize it and how do i treat it ! someone please contact me i need step by step guidiance asap i dont wanna loose this baby as ive already lost one rescue bird ! please contact me asap!

·
Registered
Pigeon rescue and rehabilitation
318 Posts
Try to keep the little one very warm at around 30-35°C to aid in digestion. You may have to slowly and carefully try to massage the crop downwards to aid in the process.

Do you smell a bad odor or anything abnormal from the bird near its beak?
Is the bird having normal firm droppings recently, or currently?
Or are the droppings very green and have an bad smell or odor?

The crop may be impacted, or there can be a obstruction due to a fungus or a canker lesion. Usually "sour crop" or canker will smell very sour and bad.

If the crop is completely impacted and stopped up despite heat therapy and manual crop massaging, usually surgery or flushing is needed. Try to never feed until the crop completely empties on its own and keep the baby pigeon very warm especially at an early age.