Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m giving shelter and care for a baby pigeon, max. 1 month old. He has been with me for 4-5 days. I have no experience with birds but I am trying to do my best for my little guy. Two days ago he succeeded to come out from his box where I am keeping him and fall down from the chair (above the carpet). This fall caused big damage to his right wing. The connection part with humerus bone and Glenoid fossa is all swollen. When I lift up the wing I saw small broken bone (bone is exposed from his skin), most likely coracoid (or blade of the scapula). He eats and drinks well and poops regularly. How can I cure the swollen area? How could I help one part of the broken bone to be attached with another one as it locates under the wing? How could I secure the wing? Could I tie both wings against his body? What will happen if these broken edges will not grow together? Please help me :confused:.

Kind Regards,
Miizk from Sharm el Sheikh

·
Registered
11,336 Posts
Hello, and thank you for taking the baby in.

I have e-mailed one of our members who hopefully can advise you on this sort of injury.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Dear Feefo

Hello, and thank you for taking the baby in.

I have e-mailed one of our members who hopefully can advise you on this sort of injury.

Dear Feefo,

Thank you so much for your help, I will look forward to an answer. Could you send me a private message when you will have an answer. Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Janne

·
Registered
12,522 Posts