Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have two, one month old Classic Oriental Frills and they're pretty terrified of me right now. They're letting me get closer to them without running, but they're definitely not friendly yet. I've only had them for two days and they were shipped to me.

They're also not eating or drinking on their own. I had to feed them some pellets and water today by opening their beaks.

I saw CBL said he has some techniques on how to tame pigeons easily, but since I'm new I can't PM anyone.

Will they get better in time? Are they not eating because they're still a bit scared?

I'm new to birds and pigeons.
Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Were they able to eat before they were shipped to you? If not, try handfeeding them defrosted peas, they quickly learn to eat them by themselves. Aim for about 35 peas 3 times daily and always leave a small bowl of peas with them. Once they are able to pick up the peas you can start adding some seeds till eventually they only eat the seeds. You can dip the tip of the beak (not over the nostrils) in a small bowl of water to get them to start drinking.

They are in a new environment, just give them time to settle down. You can offer them unsalted raw chopped up peanuts (when they are eating by themselves) as a treat. Pigeons just love them. Never chase them around the room. They will eventually learn to trust you, you just need to be patient.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks so much for the reply.

The breeder said that it's highly unusual. It's been three days and they haven't actually consumed anything on their own.

I actually opened their beaks yesterday and fed them some pellets. They drank some water from a straw that I put to their beaks but not from their actual water bowl.