Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alright so im still new to pigeons but learning quick! but i still cant figure out what all the body language means, im asking because im try to breed a pair but im having trouble picking out the hens and cocks of the group.
will hens lay there feathers out and do the little dance and head bob lol:p?
i noticed that sometimes some of them will like twich they wings in a way what does this mean? any advice please!! :)

·
Guardian Angel
585 Posts
There is several ways to tell the breed of pigeons. First is by feeling the bones at the poop vent. If they are separated its female. If they basically touch male. The other method is by looking at there head. If it is rounded at the top its male. Flat at top is female. Then the ones doing the dance and cooing is males. All these methods is not 100% but it is what a lot of pigeon fanciers use to sex there pigeons. The bone at vent is most reliable for sexing birds tho unless you want to pay to get each one sexed by testing. Best of luck with your pigeons. Robert.

·
Registered
11,455 Posts
Hens will 'drive' (fans tail while walking), but when she's accepted the male driving her, as her mate. Sometimes she'll fan her tail and sort of jump at him, to catch his attention. But if the bird is fanning the tail, chasing others, and 'bow-cooing', then you have a male ;)

The wing twitching is also part of the courtship. It can also come with territorial fights. If one bird gets to close, one might bob its head a couple times and flick its wings to say "HEY. Better back off, or I'll peck you!" :p
Other times, you'll find the cockbird in the nest, a corner, or well...anywhere, haha, squatting down and calling the hens. He'll make a low 'wooo' sound and flick his wings. The hens can do the same, if they really want their boyfriend with them :p

·
Registered
89 Posts