Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm rather new to pigeons, but earlier this year I found a very young feral that did not seem to mind being picked up or petted, so I brought it home and began keeping it as a pet. Before long, the bird seemed to imprint on me. She would fly to my shoulder or head regularly. I was able to take her outside, and we would go on walks around the block together. Sometimes she flew away, but she always came back after an hour or so and would flap against the door to be let inside. There were even several times when I brought her away from home as I went to visit with friends. During these times she would always stay either on my or my friends' shoulder or somewhere within our sight. This lasted until about a month ago. Not being very smart, I brought her too far away from home and she was chased away by a hawk. After waiting several days for her to return, I realized she was more than likely dead.

So I found a bird breeder nearby and bought a pair of young homing pigeons and have been taking care of them for the past few weeks. I guess I was hoping that these birds would be able to replace that amazing feral, but so far they have not. They are beautiful birds, but they don't seem to want anything to do with me. I have been trying to spend a little time with them individually each day, taking them out of their cage and letting them fly loose inside my house. Neither of them has shown ANY interest in using me as a perch. Sometimes I can pick them up and set them on my shoulder, and they might stay there for a minute or so, but after that it's right back to the curtain rod. They will not fly to me, nor will they eat out of my hand. They just seem to put up with me at best.