Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the sport so please bare with my green horn questions and you will learn I overanalyze everything, I apologize for this character flaw, lol. Do you feel like your best racers have a personal relationship with you that drives them home faster than your other racers? I am trying to understand the relationship between the handler and the racer if there is such a thing in this sport. Just from my personal experience with other performance bred animals, I have owned was a split 50/50 handler/animal relationship in winning. Better the relationship the more I won, less of a relationship the less I won. I know many of you have so many that it is hard to have a great relationship, because of the size of my resources and living arrangements, I will probably only have 20 birds for a few years or so I think but it will probably turn into a lifestyle for me instead of a hobby. I have a good mentor who is helping me along, but I want to hear others thoughts on this. If this sounds crazy pardon my greenhorn ideas:)

·
Registered
393 Posts
I cannot say I have a personal relationship with the bird's, in as much as a bird has bonded with me. I do however spend a lot of time just sitting in the loft with a handful of feed and observing.
I think spending the time with them is not only good for the bird's, but very therauputic for me.I've been in lofts where the bird's just thrash around...not good.Harmony should reign in the loft.

·
Registered
2,679 Posts
I cannot say I have a personal relationship with the bird's, in as much as a bird has bonded with me. I do however spend a lot of time just sitting in the loft with a handful of feed and observing.
I think spending the time with them is not only good for the bird's, but very therauputic for me.I've been in lofts where the bird's just thrash around...not good.Harmony should reign in the loft.
Well said my friend! I agree 100%!;)

·