Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings everyone,

I am completely new to pigeons, so am in the process of learning everything.

If you look at my thread on designing a new loft, you will see that I am looking at building a "Dovecote" style loft. I would like to have pigeons that are able to fly freely in and out. I do not wish to keep them confined. I will already be raising chickens and turkeys that will be partially confined. I would like the pigeons to be free.

I know very well that the issue would then be predators. We have hawks, eagles, and owls. Not to mention the land bound ones. My dogs are part of that group. I will give them food and shelter though. So I think the risk is worth it for them.

What I need to know is how to plan for the breeding of birds that will have as much chance of surviving as possible. What breeds should I look at? Can breeding with the local ferals be used to their advantage? I can trap ferals, or use the ones that may be loured by my birds. Is it possible to breed for the survival instincts that the ferals obviously have?

I saw a picture of a Horseman Thief pouter bred by Tom Donald, Canada, out flying a peregrine falcon. This is the kind of thing that I would want to encourage. These kinds of abilities.

What are peoples thoughts on this? I have contacted a few local breeders and will be getting a couple of pairs from them potentially, but I wanted to educate myself as much as possible first.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
Greetings everyone,

I am completely new to pigeons, so am in the process of learning everything.

If you look at my thread on designing a new loft, you will see that I am looking at building a "Dovecote" style loft. I would like to have pigeons that are able to fly freely in and out. I do not wish to keep them confined. I will already be raising chickens and turkeys that will be partially confined. I would like the pigeons to be free.