Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to keeping pigeons, and I have a pair of rollers I want to breed. I must admit I am totally lost. I have not found a good book on the subject of breeding.

The pair I bought are supposedly "proven," and have already mated and have had offspring before. I have them in my loft with my other 3 rollers. Should I get a breeder box and isolate them there?

If so, how long would I normally want to keep them isolated in a breeder box? Until she lays, after they mate, or after the eggs hatch?

I understand the point of isolating them, in that you want to control which 2 birds mate, but after they mate then what? Is there any point of keeping them confined after the hen lays?

·
Registered
29,797 Posts
If they are a mated pair, can't you just give them a nest box without isolating them?

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
I'm new to keeping pigeons, and I have a pair of rollers I want to breed. I must admit I am totally lost. I have not found a good book on the subject of breeding.

The pair I bought are supposedly "proven," and have already mated and have had offspring before. I have them in my loft with my other 3 rollers. Should I get a breeder box and isolate them there?

If so, how long would I normally want to keep them isolated in a breeder box? Until she lays, after they mate, or after the eggs hatch?

I understand the point of isolating them, in that you want to control which 2 birds mate, but after they mate then what? Is there any point of keeping them confined after the hen lays?