Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a rookie.

I have 5 birds in a loft and I am feeding the birds the same time every day. For the last couple of days one of the birds seems to be bulling the the other four. If they come around the food while he is eating, he goes after them, and bites them by there eye, beak, or back of the neck, and doesn't' let go! Then he continues to chase them for a few seconds.

Two of the birds seems to of lost quite a bit of feathers (or maybe there molting, not sure). Is this normal pecking order behavior? Is this a sign of not feeding enough? I feed about 1.5 cups of seeds per day for the 5 birds. Should I separate them or him? Should I let them figure it out and not worry about it?

MY biggest concern is that I don't want any of them to be injured.

Just looking for some feed back,,,,thanks!

·
Registered
13,047 Posts
Can you tell us how big your loft is?
Do they eat all the food?
Do you have nest boxes?...If so, how many?
Do you know the gender of you birds?
Have any of them paired up?:D

They could be molting...this is the time.

·
Registered
857 Posts
Brian, as long as none of them are getting seriously hurt, I would let them sort it out themselves.
Being in a new environment they are figuring out their pecking order.
You may want to try placing the feed in 2 feeders instead of just one and watch to make sure that they are all getting enough to eat.
They should continue to feel well rounded on the breast bone (keel).
Keith

·
Registered
29,796 Posts
How long have you had the birds? Is this a new behavior for this bird? And yes, knowing how big the loft is would be helpful. They could be moulting, but I don't like birds doing that. Does he chase them at other times, or just when the food is down?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The loft is 6 ft, by 2.5ft deep by 3 ft high.