Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to doves. We have a dovecote and mum and dad have raised two babies which are about 3 weeks old. She has now laid new eggs. Can I move the babies to another section of the dovecote as there is very little room in there?

Also two wild collared doves have become frequent visitors, will they breed with my white doves?

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
I am very new to doves. We have a dovecote and mum and dad have raised two babies which are about 3 weeks old. She has now laid new eggs. Can I move the babies to another section of the dovecote as there is very little room in there?

Also two wild collared doves have become frequent visitors, will they breed with my white doves?
You might want to pull the eggs for this clutch to let the parents rest on some fake eggs.

I wound up pulling my babies out of the parent cage at 3.5 weeks, but 4 or 5 weeks would be better to be sure that they're weaned. Earlier can be scary.

There's a chance they would interbreed, but my best guess for you is that the pairs would likely remain faithful to their mates. Not saying a bird has never cheated before though.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts