Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a little new to the pigeon hobby. I currently have a 10x10 breeder loft and a 8x13 flying loft. The 8x13 is a recent addition and I built if from scratch so it's good to go, but my breeder loft was not originally designed to be a pigeon loft.

It has a concrete floor which is the source for my concern at this point. The concrete floor is dry 3 seasons out of the year, but when summer hits, with high humidity, the floor stays pretty moist. There is no standing water, but you can tell the concrete is different color, so there is moisture there.

At this point I can't change things, so I need to work with what I've got. Is there a floor covering that you guys could recommend that will help wick up the moisture and not cause harm to the birds.

I have searched through the old posts and saw some people use wood shavings/wood pellets, oil dry and stall dry. I'm leaning away from anything wood on the floor as it is known to harbor asper spores.

So, what exeperience to you guys have with using oil dry or stall dry? Or what other ideas are there to deal with moisture on a concrete floor?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you. That looks interesting, it seems like it's made of finely ground chalk. Anyone have any experience with this?

·
Registered
216 Posts
I know a lot of people will disagree with me, but here goes:
I used bleach to disinfect my loft and put a fan on it to dry. The humidity was unbelievable! Anyway, once the floor was dried, I used wood chips to cover the concrete, about 3 inches. I then let the pigeon poop accumulate and rake it into the dry litter. I clean it out totally about every three months and add it to my compost pile.