Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i just found this pigeon its fully grown but still is young i found it in my backyard it wont move and keeps its eyes closed. I went to check for food in the crop and when i touched it the bird started panicking and looked like it was gagging when i opened the mouth there is yellowish stuff in it so im not sure if its puss or food. I am a vet tech and have access to anything the bird may need Please help the bird doesnt look good

·
Registered
221 Posts
So i just found this pigeon its fully grown but still is young i found it in my backyard it wont move and keeps its eyes closed. I went to check for food in the crop and when i touched it the bird started panicking and looked like it was gagging when i opened the mouth there is yellowish stuff in it so im not sure if its puss or food. I am a vet tech and have access to anything the bird may need Please help the bird doesnt look good
I hope you can do something for him/her, one of the symptoms of canker is a yellowish stuff in the throat of the pigeon the first advice is not to take them off because the pigeon can have a hemorrhage.

Pictures of the lession, the poops, the pigeon itself, and a detailed description of his/her behaviour always help that people gives you more accurate advise.

·
Registered
228 Posts
He must very in a very bad condition if he keeps his eyes closed. He may have a very bad case of canker or whatever it is he is sick with.

If, like you said, you have access to anything he may need, give him some shots of Ringer's solution and glucose, to keep him alive. If he looks so bad, he may not have eaten or drunk anything in quite a while and may not be able to swallow anything because of the growths in the throat.
I've heard of the following dosage: 1 cc Ringer's solution + 2 cc of 5% (or even 10%) glucose solution, repeated several times a day.