Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to pigeons and am wondering how to get my Saxon Shields to come back into the loft at night. I was hoping to have a flock that would fly together in the day and come home at night. I bought 11 of them from a breeder at a very large show last fall. Now I have 25 (they are very prolific!) but they just fly all over the place in various directions and perch "wherever" for the night, so I go catch them to get them safely back in the loft. This routine is getting old. Am I doing something wrong, or does this breed simply have no desire to return home?

·
Registered
269 Posts
When and where do you feed them ?.

·
Registered
4,843 Posts
You cant feed them then let them out. You have it back words. Keep them in for 3 days on half rations then when you let them out hungry they will pay a lot more attention to you.
Dave

·
Registered
816 Posts
You have to get the balance right.I always give my homers a little food before exercising ,but just enough so that when i call them they come in for me.Ive found if i give them nothing they circle the house about 10 times and drop in.I believe they need some fuel in them to want to fly.I would try giving them a quarter of their food before release and the rest on their return.

L

·
0 Posts
Great advice, I guess I have to be smarter than the pigeons:). I'll try this right away.
feeding before they are let out is just wrong , you will have no control at all over getting them back in if you feed them before letting them out :eek:

·
Registered
816 Posts
Giving them a decent feed is wrong yes For obvious reasons but if they have no intersest in flying because of hunger a little aint gonna hurt.Its like somebody once posted if you sent your kid out to play with no dinner in him he,ll soon be back in looking for food.

·
Registered
11,455 Posts