Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As most of you know by now, Im new to pigeon life. I have a small loft with 10 birds. I let them out most days to fly around. (been sick latly, keeping them home for now) I run a home for the mentally handicapped, I got the birds because the guys seem to really enjoy watching them fly over head. For the most part I have never had an issue with returning birds, except for 3 birds. These 3 will stay out of loft, but will hang out on top of flightpen or loft. After a day or two, they'll come in threw the bobs. These are older birds and know how to enter threw the bobs fine.

To the other folks who free fly, how do you get your birds to return every night?

Thanks,
WiskeyJaR

· Registered
20,303 Posts
I let mine out in the afternoon before their second meal, then when it gets time for the sun to sink low I call them in to eat their meal, when they are a bit hungry if motivates them to come in, don't over feed, one ounce per bird twice a day to start and check it in 20 mins to see if you have any left if you do it's too much if there are only a few seeds left I would say thats about right, if you don't want to measure, while they are locked in the loft call them to eat, put some feed down wait 20 mins and then take up the feed, they should learn to eat all they want, but not over eat. but you have to take the feed up. not good to leave in overnight anyway, keeping the grain up helps with not attracting rodents. even if you did not do this they should want to come back in the loft to roost at sundown, maybe they don't like the bobs or something. hope there is'nt something giving them trouble in there, they should want to go back in at some point.

· Registered
2,658 Posts