Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
As a newbie, I'm curious about everything.:p I was wondering, tonight, about size in a racing pigeon. My Lemons seem to be larger than most of the racing pigeons that I have looked at. So much so that I find it a little hard to apply the "pigeon holding grip" that I was shown recently, although that might be partly due to mutual nervousness.
So, the real question, here is: What is your opinion on how size affects performance in a racing pigeon? Is bigger (more muscular) better? Or smaller (lighter weight)?...
Thanks! Bill KU4QB
BTW, my Lemons >were< a little overweight. With better control of their diet, they seem more fit now, but still large.

·
Registered
1,138 Posts
In every pigeon there is 2 pigeons. There is the one you see and the one on the inside. If the one on the inside has heart, drive, toughness and just won't let other birds in front of it then all the outside stuff don't mean bull.

·
Registered
628 Posts
I have heard it does matter, however, my personal experience has been both large and small have performed good in any distance. I agree that it doesnt matter if the pigeon has the desire. I personally try to put a larger bird with a smaller bird when pairing to attempt to get "medium" youngsters. You will probably get as many answers as there are possibilities to this question.

·
Registered
2,852 Posts
Ohiogsp has it right I believe.

It is not the size of the bird (or person). It is the size of the heart in the bird.

Not referring to the physical size, but the metaphysical size.

To put it in a better and more known way. It ain't the size of the dog in the fight. It is the size of the fight in the dog.

There are cases where large pigeons have won races and cases small pigeons have won. The basket will tell. Not the handling, eye sign, wing structure, pedigree, etc.

The actual races.