Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new with homers and this is my first spring with birds and one of my hens finally laid an egg today. Kind of excited about it, but I now have a question.

She laid her egg in the nest box, but not in the nest bowl. I put the bowls in a few weeks ago and the first thing they did was remove the nesting material and put it on the floor of the nest box. So that is where the egg was laid and there is hardly any nesting material under it at all, so basically it is on the wood. Should I move the egg into the nest bowl or at least put bedding under it or just leave it alone? I assume she will lay another in the next day or so. I live in Michigan so it is pretty cold here still. I put excelsior grass in loft for the nests to be built with and I do have some tobacco stems as well that I could put in. I don’t want to mess with them if they will abandon them. What is a newbie to do?:)

Jim

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
they will on sit on the egg only after they lay the 2nd egg, you can try move the first egg to the nest bowl & hopefully they will lay the 2nd one there too.

·
Banned
1,073 Posts
You could try to put a nest bowl on the ground, and then put some nesting material in there and put the egg in there, see what happens. If you really want to hatch the eggs, if you don't have pumpers maybe you can find someone that has a few. Good luck.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Matt, the egg is in the Nest Box now, that is where it was laid. But it is next to the bowl and on the bottom of the nest box, not the floor of the loft.

·
Banned
1,073 Posts
Oh, move the nest bowl where the egg was laid and put it in there, with some nesting material. They may not want to sit on it, if they don't ask here what to do, I wont type all of it up if I don't have too.

·
Registered
15,536 Posts