Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, this is my first time here, I'm kinda desperate and need help.

I found a sick young pigeon 2 weeks ago, I took him to the vet two days later because his mouth had mucus and he was very low energy.
She prescribed Mycoconstantin (Nystatin), Panacur (and Animastrat in case of SOS).
He stopped eating and I had to feed him NutriBird pigeon formula.
After a few days and Vet visits he continued getting worse and ultimately died.

I have 3 other pigeons, all rescues. My eldest is 5 years old.
This one I first noticed to many urates (white stuff) on his droppings like 5 days ago. Compared to his normal droppings.
Yellowish watery droppings more recently.
He has been a little lower energy although he has appetite, I think its been getting worse..
I took him to the vet today, they are doing bloodwork and stool analysis but I'm still worried, it will take 1 or 2 days to get the results
He been sneezing occasionally, and I saw a little bit of yellow mucus on his nose after sneezing.
He also been stretching his neck and opening his mouth while doing it and it has me worried.

Can someone please help me? It would mean the world to me?
I love my pigeons and I feel so responsible.
The sick young pigeon barely had any contact with the others and I did my best to keep them apart and everything clean... but their still getting sick.

·
Registered
7,707 Posts
Sounds to me like canker or yeast. The vet should do a cropsmear to check for this. Did you look inside his beak and back of the throat for any yellow or whitish growths?

You can add some unfiltered natural apple cider vìnegar to their drinking water. 5 ml acv to 1 litre of water. This will help till you get the results.

Panacur (Fenbendazole) is toxic to pigeons. Don't give this to your pigeons.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·