Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to fancy pigeons and have been researching different breeds to find the right one for a new loft to be built later this summer. A number of people on my other thread suggested Indian Fantails, which are gorgeous!

My question is: Besides looks, what is the difference in American and Indian Fantails? Are both suitable for beginners? Or do the American Fantails need help to raise their young? It seems that Indian Fantails might be harder to find, which is why I ask...

My other question is on coloring. I have been looking at websites, and the Tail Marked birds are absolutely beautiful! I assume to have tail mark babies, both parents need to be tail marked? If a white / blue / etc bird bred with a tail marked bird, would I then just have a splash / pied bird?

·
Registered
5,525 Posts
I originally wanted Indian Fantails. I ordered 3 pairs from someone in Rhode Island, and 2 days before they were to be shipped, a raccoon got into his loft and killed all of them! I couldn't find any after that so I settled for American Fantails. Sooooo glad I did. Sweet, friendly and VERY comical with their body movements :D
The biggest difference between the two is that Indian Fantails have feathered feet and legs and a crest on the head. American have clean legs, no crest and their chest sticks WAY out when they 'strut'! Almost not seeing where their going :)
They are a good beginner bird, and great parents. But not a good idea to 'free fly' out of the loft. They are not good flyers and can be easily taken by predators. I have all colors in my loft.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Msfreebird, thank you for the quick reply. That's right, it was your "headless" Fantail (head tucked so far back you couldn't photograph his face) in the daily photo thread! Too funny! Your American Fantails sound like a hoot :D