Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys this is my third bird that i last in the past 3 months or so i had this pair of rollers and they are sitting on eggs and today i flew my tipplers and she never use to fly b4 cuz of egg but today she took off with them so she flew for about an hour with tipplers on top of my house and then she landed on some1 elses roof so i thought she would return but then i dont know where she went from there do u think she will come back?? it was a 07 female dat i bought 2 months ago now male is sitting on the eggs over night.... i dont know why i keep losing birds like that 2 months ago my baby homer pair flew away and now this im so mad at my self now.... my parents make fun of me that i keep buying them and losing them... help me out here guys im new at keepin pigeons thanks

·
Registered
13,048 Posts
I hope she will. Never...ever...let birds out that are incubating eggs or caring for babies.

·
Registered
4,098 Posts
You have to study how to resettle birds and not fly different breeds together. You don't just let them fly and expect them to come back. Depending on your location or how your loft is situated is another matter as well. Rollers and tipplers have poor homing ability so make sure they can see your loft easily. Can you describe your settling technique? If your birds are getting lost I highly recommend the following. Put your birds in a settling cage and put them on the loft roof for 1 or 2 hours everyday to see their surroundings. Put those birds as well in your house roof (don't fall and die--took me 3 weeks to recover falling from that height) for 1 hour. Once they started relaxing in those cages (they start preening themselves), then you can bring them down. Do that for one week. Those birds should not get lost unless they are too dumb.

So your plan: 1. Put your birds in settling cage on the landing board for 1-2 hours for one week.