Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
578 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi to all,

i have a question that i was wondering if was possible,

i have been flying my homers for 2 months now, and i have passed the 11mi mark for my homers,
i have wondering if i could take them out to the 150 mi and expect them all to come back,

this was how i trained them.

1st, toss
1mi, they came came back in 5 mins
2nd,
11mi, they came back in 35min

do you guys think that they will come back if i jumped to the 60 mi?

·
Guardian Angel
4,163 Posts
Hi FRESNOBIRDMAN, Why are you in such a hurry to lose birds.Take Them out to 11 miles one more time,then take them 20 miles 2 or 3 times, next go 40 miles 2 or 3 times then to 80 miles 2 or 3 times. Never rush to get them out any great distance.Are you getting these birds ready for young birds races and when do the young bird races start for your club?;)

·
Registered
60 Posts
I've flown 4-6 month old birds out to 10-50 miles a total of 3-4 times, then jump to 180+ miles with no loses. Done this like 6 times with yb's. And, these were not considered the "good" one's (old Tournier blood). Of course, this is pushing it, but, they are capable of coming home.

I don't have much experience with homers, other than my own backyard experiments, but I would take the birds out once to 10, 20, 30, 50, then 100-150 miles. My own experiments suggests...if they can make it from 50 miles, they can make 150 miles the next time around. I wouldn't recommend going from 11 miles to 60 miles, as that's a bit of a distance difference.

I would do one at 25, then 40, then 50-60, then 150+. All these distances are suggestions only, and everybody sets them differently. My own belief is, a good homing pigeon should be able to "home" from over 100 miles with minimal training if they are not too young. The only reason you'd toss them out to these distances is to build their stamina, strength, etc, so they have the physical ability to make it home.

·