Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time with pigeons. I have six young homing pigeons, all born this past winter. About 2 1/2 weeks ago, one bird laid the first two eggs. I have only seen the mother on the eggs these last few weeks, so I don't know which bird is the father. The past few times I have checked, no bird has been on the eggs. The temperature has been around 100 F. Is it common for the eggs to not have a bird on them? Is it maybe because the temperature is so hot the eggs do not need a bird on them? Could it be the male is too young to know it is his duty to sit on the eggs when the mother needs a break?

I guess my real question is whether I should be concerned, or if it is normal for the birds to be off the eggs sometimes?

·
Premium Member
25,396 Posts
Can you post a picture of your set up, and exactly how old your birds are and did you candle the eggs and how long since the eggs were laid?

It is possible they may be immature if they are 6 months or under 6 months of age, and they don't quite know their duty, but they will leave the eggs if the eggs are not fertile, or something is wrong with them and they aren't going to hatch.

·
Registered
133 Posts
The hen may just be getting some nesting instincts, the eggs may be infertile and there actually may not be a dad at all. They're just going through their puberty stage.

·
Registered
20,301 Posts