Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
I am new to Pigeon talk but have been a member of Starlingtalk for 2 years now.

I walked outside today and found a baby pigeon just sitting in the front walk.

This is in Dixon California, but I am actually just visiting, I live in San Martin Ca and am heading back Wen. Afternoon.

The baby pigeon has pin feathers all over but still has yellow fluff comming off his head and back. I can't feel any broken bones. His feet grip well. His eyes are alert. He whistles and pecks very gently all over my hands when I try to give him water...which I have been providing as drops on the outside of his beak...but after some speed reading on this site I don't think that is the proper method.

He is very thin, and very weak. I will have to try and figure out how to post pictures on this website.

Currently the baby is in the bathroom sitting quietly with a heating pad set on low. I would appreciate some guidance as I am new to pigeons but I do have 5 other birds (2 Starlings, 1 house sparrow, and 2 red-cheeked cordon bleu finches).

I will continue my crash course in pigeon care on this site, but I know with babies time is of the essance.

-Jill

Thanks so much for your help!

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Hi Jill, and welcome to the forum!:)
Pigeons drink water by sucking it and you need to dip his beak into the dish but just front of it, not nostrils. Add some honey to give him additional energy.
You can feed him thawed peas and sweet corn. Defrost them under the running hot water and make them slightly warm (body temperature). Give them to him by opening gently the beak and popping it in. About 40~50 pieces per feeding. Depending how big is a baby 2~3 times a day. Make sure that crop is full but do not overfeed. Check also that baby is pooping.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·