Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(please note I am a rather poor college student, so while I would love to take this fellow to the vet I really, really cannot afford it! :( )
Hello! Three days ago I received a call from one of my friends, informing me that she saved a baby bird from her barn cats. She had no idea how to care for it, and since I have successfully hand raised kittens and puppies from birth, wondered if I could try rearing this little fellow.
He has dark grey feathers, and little tufts of yellow sticking out every where. He also is bald under his wings and belly.
I think he is about 2-3 weeks old?

When I got him he was a little bit bloody, but I didn't seen any serious wounds other than a scratch on his wing and one on his back. He had no puncture wounds that I could see, and cleaning what he did have was little trouble.
My mother had raised various baby birds as a girl, and after talking with her I followed her recipe for a dog food, bread crumb and milk. While she had never had pigeons, this seemed like a good start to at least get some vitals in him.
He was reluctant to eat, I was trying to syringe it down his throat. After going online and doing some fast research, I realized I was going about it all wrong. Now I feed him via a sandwich baggie, with a cut out corner where he can stick his beak into.

He is the sweetest thing! Love cuddles, gives 'kissies' and cries for me if I'm not near. He loved to eat, and the first day was smooth sailing.

Last night however, I went to give him his last meal of the night when I noticed he was acting very off. He was listless, and his right side of the body was acting 'lazy'. His leg wasn't able to grip my fingers, and his wing kept going slack.