Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I hope I am posting this in the correct place.

A couple of weeks ago I ended up taking in a badly injured feral pigeon, it has an injured wing, an injured leg, a couple of chest wounds and it looks like something tried to pluck it (I'm guessing a bird of prey caught it). When I got it couldn't walk and the wing was just hanging by its side, it was hard to do much with either injury because it needed the wing to balance when it tried to hop and I couldn't strap the leg really well because the dressings interfered with other wounds. Now it can walk slowly and with a limp and the wing is being held in a more normal-looking position although there is still damage under the wing.

I keep reptiles but I have no experience with birds so I am on a very steep learning curve so if I give details of what I am doing I'd be grateful if people could tell me what I am doing wrong or what I could do better for it to heal.

-- I am keeping it in a 4ft vivarium with a UVB light to keep it warm and give it UV as it can't go outside, I am giving it a hot water bottle (wrapped up so it is just warm) at night to keep it warm.

-- I am feeding it a mixture of seeds and some nuts (pine nuts, linseed, corn, lentils, peanuts, sunflower seeds without shells, pumpkin seeds, and some bird pellets) I am also offering it some greens like Kale, spinach, Romaine lettuce, and rocket. I am giving it an electrolyte mixture in its water and some calcium and grit in its seed.

-- It has a couple of nest areas in the vivarium with hay in so that it can make nests, it is using one in the day time and the other one at night at the moment.

-- I am using manuka honey on its wounds and am trying not to handle it too much although it seems fairly relaxed when I am doing maintenance in its house.