Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, so I'm new to this sight so I'm sorry if I post this in the wrong place or anything. I recently found a hurt pigeon in my neighbors yard, he/she(?) was dragging his wing on the ground and was unable to fly at all. I was able to catch him (held a large butterfly net in front of him and he walked into it) and brought him inside to get him away from any animals that could kill him (my neighborhood has a lot of hawks, and my neighbors don't keep their dogs inside).

After checking out his wing, I found he has an old looking scabbed over injury on the last major joint of his wing. He has movement in the base of his wing, but the end of his wing seems broken, and drags when he walks. I cleaned the injury with Betadine (not sure how much good it did bc of the scab) and my mom did a figure 8 sling wrap on his wing with vet tape (during her old job she would have to put slings and splints on reptiles with injuries, so she has some knowledge on it) after that I checked him for mites (have a cockatiel and didn't want anything spreading) and set him up in my room in a large dog crate with towels on the bottom, mixed bird seed and veggies, water (with a little salt and sugar for electrolytes), and a heated blanket on the outside of one side of the cage. He's been eating, drinking, and pooping well, and he's got a good amount of energy and personality (had him for a night so far, last night he was sluggish and slow, today he's alert and fairly active, even jumped on my legs and let me pet him when I took him out to switch the towels out)