Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to read relevant posts I have got the impression that feeding sunflower seeds can be the cause for pigeons to get canker. Is this correct and if so why is it so? And if it is a fact does it apply to feeding shelled seeds or sunflower seeds without the shells?
I am not sure whether I got this all right. Would be glad if someone could enlighten me as I have no experience with all this.

I am talking about feral pigeons which are not tame - they come and go as they like and they would not allow me to touch them!

·
Registered
106 Posts
with my experience we used to hand feed the young ones with soaked chana grams.
we used to hold the mouth open in onehand and push the seed into the throat which sometimes caused lesions on the throat which later gets turned into canker.

May be the sunflower seeds with those sharp edged and hard shelled bodies are causing lesions and leading to canker.
anyhow i am not sure of cause of canker. but after we stopped handfeeding there are no cases of canker till date

·
Guardian Angel
4,163 Posts
Not True

Hi Pigeonwriter, Not true sun flower seeds do not cause canker, I have fed my race birds shelled sun flower seeds for years and I see no canker.GEORGE;)

·
Administrator
9,478 Posts